Hughesnet Community

Any Amateur Radio Operators (AKA "Hams") Here on The HughesNet Community Forums?

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
El Dorado Netwo
Advanced Tutor

Any Amateur Radio Operators (AKA "Hams") Here on The HughesNet Community Forums?

I was a Ham when I was 12. Had a Technician Class license, WA6ZHL. Fell out of it when I got into high school. Wish I had stayed in.

Now, I'm studying to take the tests to get my license renewed. But this time I'm going all the way for the top Extra Class, something I could only dream about when I was a kid.

Great site I found, http://www.hamstudy.org. I've gone through the Technician and General Class questions and was happy about what I still remembered after all these years. Now working on the Extra Class questions. Once I get to about 85% pass on those, I'll go in to take all three exams at once.

Have to say I'm glad they eliminated morse code as a license or even an exam requirement (when did that happen?). I hated learning code, and could barely get to 5 WPM to pass the Novice and Technician Class exams. 13 WPM for General and 20 WPM for Advanced were simply way too far out of my reach at that time. I'm sure some old-timers would say the standards have all gone downhill from the "good old days,"  but I'm glad I won't have to learn and pass an exam on a technology I'll never use.

Anyway, would like to hear from any fellow Hams on this forum? Let's QSO 🙂

El Dorado Networks |Diamond Springs, CA | eldoradonetworks.com
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Let the rest of us "Ham's" know what you purchased with your $2000.00.  This way we can salivate a little.

73's

Bernie  KD2JYU

View solution in original post

39 REPLIES 39
MarkJFine
Professor

Not a ham but used to be an avid SWL... and started getting back into it until my buried coax got cut by an overactive lawnmower. I just need time to repair it, as well as remount the balun and then should be back in 'business'.