cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I wish I would have read up on hughesnet before signing up

Highlighted
Spectator

I wish I would have read up on hughesnet before signing up

Sad thing is I started off with the best package hughesnet has to offer, had the tech come out and install the dish. Interesting bit is the dish is situated on the wrong side of the house and the take off angle of the dish matches that of my roof. I'm no expert but I would assume that has an impact on my signal when I transmit but oh well... Anyhow, dish up, router up, all lights green and ugghhhh.... I run a speed test and see my download speed is less then a 1Mbps but my upload is at 6Mbps... I'm not kidding, I ran the test 15 times to make sure I was reading it backwards...

Anywho, I test the speed with other tools all with similar outcomes. I call hughesnet to confirm there is an issue and they tell me that there is no issue and these are the speeds I should be seeing.... Pretty sure I read something on the plan that mentioned 25Mbps down. I'm not new to advertised numbers and never have a seen numbers match as advertised with anyone but **bleep**, every other ISP Ive used has been close to the mark for their price but hughesnet takes the cake. Speeds nowhere near advertised. And here is the kicker, once all the data was used I was expecting the internet to not work at all but came to realise that my data ended sooner then I expected and hadn't even noticed it. I still have the same speeds. So I called again, this time the tech was more helpful and gave me a few tokens so we can run some tests and found with mutual agreement that the service was indeed slower then frozen snot thawing in a snowstorm.