Gen 2

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Ryan2
Freshman

Gen 2

The Gen 2 came out 10 years ago and it’s the only Gen my town could get. Why cant we get Gen 3 or 4 in northern Alaska? And also the plans for the Gen 2 the standard plan is $80 for 1.5mps 350data. But the highest plan is $200 for 2.0mbs with 450data. How does that go from $80 to $100 for little improvement?
5 REPLIES 5
MarkJFine
Professor

Quite possible that the frequency bands that are used can't provide a significantly usable signal to that area. Too much path loss, if not too much latency. So the spot beams were prioritized elsewhere.

* Disclaimer: I am a HughesNet customer and not a HughesNet employee. All of my comments are my own and do not necessarily represent HughesNet in any way.
GabeU
Distinguished Professor IV

Though I don't know if this is the case, as I'm not very technically versed on the sats, it may be that the placement of the sats needed for Gen3 or Gen4 aren't amenable to those living in Alaska.  Maybe it's too low on the horizon for most, so they don't bother offering it for any.  

I just checked a couple of places and the elevation was 9 degrees for the ES17 in about the middle of the state.  

BirdDog
Assistant Professor

@GabeU wrote:

Though I don't know if this is the case, as I'm not very technically versed on the sats, it may be that the placement of the sats needed for Gen3 or Gen4 aren't amenable to those living in Alaska.  Maybe it's too low on the horizon for most, so they don't bother offering it for any.  

I just checked a couple of places and the elevation was 9 degrees for the ES17 in about the middle of the state.