cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

2.5 gig vanished in one hour!

Highlighted

Re: 2.5 gig vanished in one hour!

Thanks for all your input. I go the above mentioned hourly totals page often. The main reason I want minute-by-minute is to see if there is a 2 gig surge in soemthing like a very short maybe, 60 second time period... then I'd know it's a data error and not real bandwidth. I work with data for a living and would love to rule out the possibility that it's a calculation error. I don't like jumping through all these hoops when I can't see exactly when the bandwidth spiked. Obviously if it happened in a very short time period (like one minute) then it would be impossible to be on my end... but I'll never know for sure unless I catch something on my end... which I am still looking into.

About the logs: I know it says it's based on Eastern time and many people seem to think that as well, but I shut my modem off every night and the times are perfectly in sync with my Pacific Time zone for on and off times. So although they say it's EST, my times are not 3 hours off they are the same as PST. If I shut the model off at 7:45 in the evening, the next day the logs will show activity for the 7-8 pm time frame and nothing afterwards... so they really aren't on the Eastern time zone... at least not for me. just thought I'd mention that. Oh, and my bonus time is from 2am -8am PST.
Highlighted
New Poster

I use a combination of WPA2-PSK and Mac address filtering so even if you find my password your MAC address still has to be listed in the approved list to access anything
Highlighted
Honorary Alumnus

Hi Charles,

Like Gary, I am just to far back in the woods, also using wireless encryption.

In my case it is best described as "unauthorized use by an authorized  device"

You simply can't trust those tablets, phablets & e-readers to stay within the "rules".