Hughesnet Community

3 calls re: excessive data usage. Told yesterday to unplug LAN overnight & call back NOW told to post? I'm not familiar with this???

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cathyedfbf
New Poster

3 calls re: excessive data usage. Told yesterday to unplug LAN overnight & call back NOW told to post? I'm not familiar with this???

I've called 3 times re: excessive data usage. Was told yesterday to unplug LAN overnight & call back. NOW i was told to post my problem. I've never done this before , so now what?
129 REPLIES 129
Gwalk900
Honorary Alumnus

Mcafee is a pain.

Try to enable the firewall. Lets see what Mcafee does.

cathyedfbf
New Poster

did you see my ? re: blocked correctly? how do I tell? it shows FIREWALL OFF?
cathyedfbf
New Poster

when I click on OFF, it flashed the green ON for split second then goes to OFF  & gives me the msg about Mcafee
Gwalk900
Honorary Alumnus

Try clicking the button to "on"

I think it is a real possibility that you have picked up something malware related.

I want you (after you release the Tokens) is to go here:

https://www.malwarebytes.com/

And download, install, update and run a manual scan of the free version of Malwarebytes:

cathyedfbf
New Poster

I got kicked out & thought it was dead?   I clicked the green Purchase tokens button on meter page.  it shows a list with 2 types that have FREE.  I clicked on those.  now I'm back to 2.7gb.    but I don't think that's gonna last long????
Gwalk900
Honorary Alumnus

OK, gotcha on the Mcafee.

I haven't used it in years. In part because of things like this.

Lets see if we have a Community user that has recent experience with Mcafee.

I'll try to dig around and see what I can find in the meant time.

Open up Mcafee and see if you can give permission to Glasswire to run.

cathyedfbf
New Poster

Malware link....when I click on the Free Download it goes to a screen showing BUY & doesn't give the option to change to free?   
Gwalk900