Hughesnet Community

3 calls re: excessive data usage. Told yesterday to unplug LAN overnight & call back NOW told to post? I'm not familiar with this???

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cathyedfbf
New Poster

3 calls re: excessive data usage. Told yesterday to unplug LAN overnight & call back NOW told to post? I'm not familiar with this???

I've called 3 times re: excessive data usage. Was told yesterday to unplug LAN overnight & call back. NOW i was told to post my problem. I've never done this before , so now what?
129 REPLIES 129
cathyedfbf
New Poster

What do I do know?   is it fixed???     I have NO idea what I installed?   As I'm sure you all can tell I'm NOT a "tech person"  
cathyedfbf
New Poster

re: Glasswire   do I need all the alerts popping up?  AND how do I tell if Windows Explorer blocked and do I unblock it....since I have no idea what it does?
Old Labs

We we're just talking techie stuff - crossing our fingers that you'd actually be able to reboot!

If you have rebooted, check Glasswire to see if Windows Explorer is still bleeding your data.   
Gwalk900
Honorary Alumnus

Cathy,

Just as a safety measure I would like to see you do another scan but .....

Done in "Safe Mode"

Shut your computer completely off.

When you hit power button to restart have your finger poised over the "f-8" button.

Hit F8 repeatedly at the rate of about 1 time per second.

That will interrupt the normal boot sequence.

A black screen will come up. Select SAFE MODE (without networking.

Once it starts, very little will be running. Manually start Malwarebytes and do a complete scan.

Se if it finds more in that mode.

Restart normally and let us know the result.

cathyedfbf
New Poster