Hughesnet Community

3 calls re: excessive data usage. Told yesterday to unplug LAN overnight & call back NOW told to post? I'm not familiar with this???

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cathyedfbf
New Poster

3 calls re: excessive data usage. Told yesterday to unplug LAN overnight & call back NOW told to post? I'm not familiar with this???

I've called 3 times re: excessive data usage. Was told yesterday to unplug LAN overnight & call back. NOW i was told to post my problem. I've never done this before , so now what?
129 REPLIES 129
cathyedfbf
New Poster

I wish I knew what I did so I don't do it again!!   tks for the scan helpful hint!
cathyedfbf
New Poster

She's back!!   Still not sure when to panic!?   but, the total usage is higher than it was yesterday after it had gone down to 1.3g  lastnite.    What Total Usage amt indicates a problem?
BirdDog
Assistant Professor

Maybe time to also run a rootkit scanner such as the one here: http://usa.kaspersky.com/downloads/TDSSKiller
cathyedfbf
New Poster

I have no idea what you're talking about, so I don't know what to?   Sorry, I'm tech-stupid!    Do I download & install etc....not sure what you meant by "maybe"  OR wait for Gwalk that worked with me yesterday on this?
BirdDog
Assistant Professor

Malwarebytes also has one: https://www.malwarebytes.com/antirootkit/

You simply download, install and run just like you did for the Malwarebytes malware scanner. Was simply saying since it is back then the issue may be much deeper such as a rootkit virus which modifies low level system files.
Old Labs

First guess is that it's abut 175 MB attributable to Windows Updates and just about the same as what's waiting for me to manually download with Windows Update. October's cumulative updates started rolling out yesterday. Since you previously indicated you were using Windows 7, go into Windows Update and change the settings to: