A strange case.

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ArchMDD
Freshman

A strange case.

Hello, I'm new to this satellite internet thing but from what I have read this system works well for email, web browsing and even some video viewing. First, I have a primary internet service provider (cable) and a secondary backup service (Hughes Net). I'm a professor and I need to give classes, so I got Hughes Net as a backup internet for when my primary fails. My electricity goes out everyday at random intervals and so does the internet. When they installed Hughes Net (June 2020) I noticed that I could see videos, and web pages on my phone, but I can't access them via my PC. Even thought it says I'm connected, there is no internet service. I have called, technicians have come and gone and i still don't have internet access on my PC. List of things I have tried: Connect another PC Use WiFi on my PC Use 4 different LAN Cables, (Cat5E, Cat6, Cat7 and Cat8) Use different LAN ports Flush DNS Clear Histories Clear Caches Use Google Chrome Use Microsoft Edge Use Opera Use Firefox Change DNS servers Change IPV4 and IPV6 addresses/servers No Proxy No VPN No Firewall No Antivirus Rebooting modem Rebooting PC Reinstalling Terminal Reconnecting cables on the modem and the antenna on the roof Manually resetting to factory settings Web Acceleration Off I honestly don't remember what else. I can only access the internet with 1 of my 2 phones. Only 1 device has sporadic access, my other phone and PC don't. When I do have access to internet on my 1 phone i do a speed test and the max I have seen is 6mbps and 0.2mbs of upload. Sometime there is no upload speeds. I can't provide you with a Test my.net record because I can't access it on my PC. I don't have trees, I live in the sunny Caribbean, the technicians say I have one of the best signals, but... I have no internet. I have tried to use this service since June, and since this Monday there is no internet service on m