Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Access during quarantine

Highlighted
Freshman

Access during quarantine

Good afternoon.

I am dealing with forced isolation after positive covid19 test. As a news producer, I work in a critical infrastructure industry as defined by DHS. My station has provided me with the necessary equipment and software at home to do my job, but the connection is an issue.  Any suggestions would be appreciated. Speed test is 2.32 mbps upload and < 1 download

20 REPLIES 20
Highlighted
Associate Professor

Re: Access during quarantine

Your problem will be most likely the latency, not the speed, and there's nothing that can be done about the latency because... satellite.

* Disclaimer: I am a HughesNet customer and not a HughesNet employee. All of my comments are my own and do not necessarily represent HughesNet in any way.
Highlighted
Associate Professor

Due to latency, there will be delays between what you say, and others hear/see if you are trying to stream to your broadcast station.

If you are getting ~1.5Mbps to ~2.5Mbps the best you would be able to live-stream would be approximately 480, possible 720p.  I would consult with your studio on how to pre-set a resolution, as you won't get any faster upload.

Another possible option, depending on your role, pre-record and upload the footage for broadcast.

Download speed for broadcasting has minimal impact, if you're waiting on a queue from the broadcast station, you could possibly use landline phone service to get the information needed while broadcasting from home.

Highlighted
Freshman

I do not need to stream anything. I need to be able to download clips for editing, and upload videos for transfer back. This is my speed test result from hughesnet

20200320_173230.jpg

Highlighted
Distinguished Professor III

Try doing your work after midnight.