Data usage and speed

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
gonzalezcook
New Poster

Data usage and speed

I am pretty new to HughesNet. The first month everything went well - we watched Netfilx and did our regular internet activities (including online school) without running out of data til close to the end of our billing period. So, I thought we didn't need to be very careful about our data. But, now we we are on our second month and on day 2 we were out of data after just 2 Netflix shows. Is this representative of how our data will be used up so quickly? Also, when our speed is reduced after using up the anytime data, does the speed stay the same so there is no point in being careful with our data usage? Or will the speed continue to go down as we keep using data? Thanks for any help you can give me. I am new to satelitte internet.
7 REPLIES 7
Liz

Hi gonzalezcook,

Welcome to the HughesNet community and thanks for posting! As noted in your confirmation e-mail, for your first 20 days, your data will reset every night. This is done as a courtesy to allow all your devices to update that may have not been connected to the Internet for a while. 

Moving forward, you should pay attention to how any device connects to the internet. You have 10 GB available for your Anytime Bytes on your Prime Plus plan. We suggest setting your Netflix playback option to SD, as HD playback can use up to 3 GB an hour.

You do have SmartBrowsing available, which allows you to do basic internet browsing and e-mailing despite exceeding your data. However, heavy usage consisting of streaming media, large downloads, and HTTPS traffic will be throttled.

I've sent you some free tokens so you can try these additional tips for data management:

Keep in mind there are countless factors that can use your data: