cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Foreign based tech support

rdlatsch

Re: Foreign based tech support

Problem is, they don't want to escalate you to  tier 2 or tier 3; no one would transfer me to someone else. Hence, the circles we talked in. And while I appreciate that some people want to chit chat with people from around the world, I prefer to just solve my problems.

And while I also appreciate those of you who have been here for a long time and have the answers; again, I don't have an IT degree, and although what you say makes perfect sense to you, I need "answers for dummies" - very detailed, where to find things on the computer, no abbreviations, and no assuming that I "should know" what you are talking about. I am new to satellite based internet service, and so far, I'm none to happy with it.

rdlatsch

The problem with the data loss is very intermittent. I think that is why it is so difficult to diagnose, Unplugging the Ethernet cable for a few hours and then plugging it back in is not the solution, although it is the only solution the tech support people I spoke with could think of.  I have received and installed the new modem.  Will that help? I can only hope.
rdlatsch

I'm glad you enjoy your chit chat.  I don't. When I call tech support, I want solutions, not weather reports.
rdlatsch

Which is a problem, because no one wants to admit they don't have a solution, and they don't offer to sent you on to the next tier of service.
maratsade
Distinguished Professor IV

Indeed, solutions is what we all want.  I get solutions, and the chit chat and human connection are the icing on the cake.
Amanda

Hi rdlatsch

Unplugging the Ethernet cable for a few hours and then plugging it back in is not the solution