cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hey Linux Gurus I have a problem "HELP"

Highlighted

Hey Linux Gurus I have a problem "HELP"

Hey Guys and Gals I am posting this via my Windows Partition because my Linux Mint 17.3 64bit has gotten real goofy.  First some Hardware information: Acer R3700 with 1.8 Hyperthreaded Atom Dual Core, 2GB DDR-3 2.5GB Swap Partition, NVIDIA ION HDMI graphics.

The problem freeze ups even while just surfing the web.  It locks up and takes about a minute or two to restore itself.  Video Glitches and Buffers even at very low resolution.  It acts like a bad RAM Chip like all resources get used up when it fails I can't get to System Monitor to check it out.  I have very little running in the background.  I figured I had a bad RAM Chip but when I boot into Windows 10 it works without a problem I even watched Full Metal Jacket in 720HD with no problems at all (I did burn up a Gig and a Half of Data but it was worth it.) So does anyone have any ideal what or where I can check into this.  Is there something in Terminal or a way I can monitor resources and go back to check what happened when it messes up?

Any help will be appreciated.  
10 REPLIES 10
Highlighted

Re: Hey Linux Gurus I have a problem "HELP"

Was there a recent upgrade? Could be related to this bug - check out the comments there, people have found some different reasons as to why this is happening. They vary, but one of them might be your issue.

Amanda
Highlighted
Sophomore

My son has a laptop with similar hardware. He had to give up on Mint and went to Fedora, found it more stable on low performance hardware. Mint is getting bloated.
Highlighted