Horrible Download speeds

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
tehodge
New Poster

Horrible Download speeds

Today I signed up for Norton that is offered by Hughesnet. When I attempted to download the install files, which by the way is only a 3.5mb file, it took over an hour to download 0.4mb then timed out with a network error. I attempted it 3 other times. Then I called tech support and told them about it. What they said was "oh your download speed is just fine". I don't think so. It shouldn't take over an hour to download 0.4mb of 3.5mb file and then time out. I used to work in IT for a living and know networking and if I told my customers that their download speed was just fine after them waiting for over an hour I would be fired. I understand latency and all of that. Even the tech mention that it wasn't right but didn't have a clue. He also mentioned that the router's temp was way over what it should be even though it's sitting on a table out in the open in a spare room 6 feet from my laptop. Needless to say I'm not at all impressed with Hughesnet's "high speed internet". If this is what they refer to as high speed I wonder what a sllow internet speed is. I would like to have a tech come out to check the alignment of the dish to the satellite and to replace the router

4 REPLIES 4
GabeU
Distinguished Professor IV

@tehodge 

They'll only send a tech out if it's deemed necessary, which they often determine by running remote diagnostics on the HughesNet equipment.

If you run into this problem again, try power cycling your HughesNet modem. To do so, unplug the modem, wait for at least a minute, then plug it back in.  Then wait for at least five minutes, which gives the modem time to be fully up to date and ready, and try your activity again.