cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I cancel my service and not get charged for Early Termination?

How do I cancel my service and not get charged for Early Termination?

I have currently had HughesNet for one year. I got this internet to run GIS software because I am a student. I have never been able to use this software for even fifteen minutes before I exceed my data allowance. For context, I have a mid-tier package and have been told that the expected data allowance (prior to being switched to the slower speeds) should last around 10 movies or 15 hour long shows on Netflix. This is not even remotely the case. I can watch two thirty minute episodes on Netflix at the beginning of the monthly data allowance before I am switched to slower speeds and completely incapable of doing anything online other than web browsing. I have called, numerous times. Each time my data allowance is reset which is nice on the part of HughesNet, but essentially pointless because the internet quality is so bad within only two hours of use at the beginning of a new data cycle. 

I am a student and am forced two drive an hour to my campus on a daily basis because I can't use my HughesNet internet. How can I get out of my two year requirement?
30 REPLIES 30
Associate Professor

Re: How do I cancel my service and not get charged for Early Termination?

Only two ways to get out of contract...

1: By paying for the ETF.

2: By having your sales call reviewed, and see if you was lied to about anything.

Curious, can you tell us the exact name of the software package your trying to use?
Assistant Professor

And 15 hours on Netflix set to low definition will use just over 4.5GB. Exactly which plan do you have? That software must be using lots of data. Maybe HD graphics pages and video being both uploaded and downloaded?

The easyest way to not pay a ETF after 1 year is wait another year gee that's simple.