How to conserve data

cancel
Showing results forΒ 
Search instead forΒ 
Did you mean:Β 
Eva-79
Freshman

How to conserve data

Hello, I'm new to Hughes. I'm not tech savvy at all. I about had a heart attach when I seen how much data I used on the day it renewed. I've had the pleasure of chatting with support agents. I have to say you all are great in helping your customer.
I want to make sure I am doing everything possible to to conserve data. I have a big family 5 kids ages 21 to 10 who love to use data. The agent yesterday helped me a lot. He was able to disconnect my dish hopper from the internet. My husband is the only who uses it and he doesn't do on demand stuff. He's a little more non tech savvy than me. Lol so he leaves everything up to me. So we did that. I also tried to program the PS4 to only update or do downloads between 2am and 8 am no luck there. I was able to stop auto updates tho will that help save data? Another thing he helped me with was changing password so I have total control now. Kids don't like it but to bad.. lol sorry I can be long winded. But any hoo, now my Vizio TV it's hooked up to my blue ray which is a Sony. My daughter she's a selective mute and is struggling with depression she's 13. Anyways the only time I see her smile or laugh is watching YouTube on my Vizio TV threw the blue ray how can I get the best settings to save data on those two devices. Sorry for the long message but I'm a talker. Thanks 😊
8 REPLIES 8
maratsade
Distinguished Professor IV

I would suggest that you be careful with streaming anything, as this is very data intensive, and if your data package is small (10 or 20 GB per month, for example), you will find you will use the data very quickly. 

Use the lowest resolution for anything you stream. Make sure the Video Data Saver is enabled (you can enable/disable it by going under My Account from the top of the pages on this site).