Hughesnet Community

Hughes over reporting data usage?

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hughes over reporting data usage?

I guess nobody will believe the data I've been gathering, that seems to show that Hughes is over charging for data usage, without screen shots.

So here's a screen shot from the bonus period:

Screenshot from 2018-11-29 06-42-55.png

I had reset the Linux iftop data total just before running Hughes usage for this shot. As you can see, just running Hughes usage uses about 2 meg of data according to iftop.

Here's a shot from after I reset iftop at 8:00 am and then ran Hughes usage later in the day:

Screenshot from 2018-11-29 13-21-39.png

As you can see, it looks like Hughes over charged me 19 meg for this day. I've been running these tests for almost five months now and this is typical for a day. I have seen as much as 44 meg in a single day and as little as 4 meg. The more data that day the larger the difference.

Doesn't seem like much, but this amounts to about .57 gig a month. When you've only got 10 gig, every little bit helps. BTW all four radios on the wifi are disabled.

I've tested iftop by downloading files ( in the bonus period of course ), and comparing the file size on disc with the data reported by iftop, and it looks consistant to me.

Actually, iftop reports slightly more than the disc file size, which is to be expected, because there's always a small amount of data flowing anyime the modem is not isolated.

Can anybody point out a mistake in my methods or conclusion?

"The truth of a proposition has nothing to do with it’s credibility. And vice versa."

Lazarus Long

7 REPLIES 7
MarkJFine
Professor

Have you accounted for base-2 vs. base-10 counting? One method may be seeing 1.024 as rounded to 1M or 1k, so there's 2.4% possibly accounted for right there.