Hughesnet Community

Hughesnet Is Hell

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
It's A Trap!

Hughesnet Is Hell

I've been using Hughesnet for about 5 or 6 months so far and it's been absolutely excruciating. Honestly this entire service deserves a 1/5 or even a 0 as a rating. No one should have to endure the pain of using super slow service.
And when you complain about your inconsistent speeds they tell you to do a "speed test". Which is just their way of making the customers do a bunch of tests that don't solve the issue thus tiring him out and making him leave the issue alone. So if you get told to do a speed test you won't ever solve the problem. They will blame it on weather, your satellite, your modem, your installed apps, distance, ANYTHING.

Overall this company is trash. I remember seeing your commercials back when I was a kid. "Hughesnet gen 4 high speeds for gaming and browsing the internet", blah blah blah. It's a load of bull.
Just say "Trash internet service only mean't for old heads who barely use the internet".
And btw it's 2016 not 2002. Internet usage is at it's highest these days and people with satellite internet are suffering the most.
8 REPLIES 8
C0RR0SIVE
Associate Professor

You remember seeing Gen4 commercials as a kid?  So you must certainly be under the age of 18, or just now turning 18 at the oldest seeing as Gen4 is only 3 or 4 years old now.

That aside, a properly configured home network, and operational terminal can allow for some really good speeds during non-peak hours.

If you are having issues with speeds, please connect your computer directly to your modem, and follow the steps outlined here: https://community.myhughesnet.com/hughesnet/topics/cant-use-the-hughesnet-speedtest-guide-for-testmy...
Amanda

Good morning Justin,

Thank you for your feedback, we'll be sure to send it up.