cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hughesnet fails to deliver speeds as promised

Hughesnet fails to deliver speeds as promised

I am new to Hughesnet, but i am very disappointed with download and upload speeds. Promised "up to 10Mps" download speed but typically have around 1.5 Mps. Rarely has it exceeded 5.0 .No better than our DSL, but our DSL service is at least reliable at 2.5 to 3.0 Mps. What can i do to optimize the experience? 
great sales force and installation was a terrific experience, by the way.
52 REPLIES 52

Re: Hughesnet fails to deliver speeds as promised

Good morning Doug, 

Welcome to the community and thank you for your post. We appreciate the positive feedback, thank you. Just a note, we don't intend to compete with terrestrial ISPs providing DSL or cable; we just provide internet to those who would otherwise not have any. The inherent latency in satellite technology would prevent us from matching cable-like speeds.There can be a lot of factors affecting speeds, such as having multiple devices on the network, having concurrent users, and engaging in multiple data-intensive activities at once. Having regular PC malware scans can also help ensure there aren't malicious programs on your computer using your internet connection without your knowledge.

If you find that the speeds still seem slow even with one computer directly connected to the HughesNet modem, keep your computer directly to the modem and run some speed tests for us to evaluate. Please run a set of 5 speed tests 3 times over the course of a 24 hour period for us to properly evaluate your speeds. Your patience and cooperation is appreciated, and we look forward to hearing back from you.

Speed test: http://consumer.performancetests.hughesnet.com