Hughesnet Community

I have been putting up with slow system now for over four months.

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
RogerYates
Freshman

I have been putting up with slow system now for over four months.

I have been putting up with slow system now for over four months. Cant watch most facebook videos without haveing it buffer over and over. But today is the last straw. My son went to the Tulsa drags, I tried to watch the video, it first came up then it turns BLACK and only has sound, (and its buffering) As much as you charge, this should NEVER happen.
24 REPLIES 24
GabeU
Distinguished Professor IV

If you are having speed issues, please head to http://testmy.net/ and set up an account.  Please connect a single device directly to the modem.  No router.  Then run some speed tests using the 12MB manual test size for download tests.

Please try to run a batch of three to five tests, each test spaced at least five minutes from the others, and try to run a batch in the morning, afternoon and evening.  The point is to run some tests at different times of the day to get an average.

After you've run a few tests, please click on the Results tab and post your Results page URL.  It will look something like the following, with your account name where it says "yournamehere". 

http://testmy.net/quickstats/yournamehere

Amanda

Hello Roger,

We recommend following GabeU's recommendations to get started. Do you mean to say that your internet has only slowed down in the past four months? Did you upgrade your HughesNet equipment? I see that you had posted in our forum about 3 years ago with the same concerns. Looking forward to helping you,

Amanda
Lab-Lover

Thanks for posting this Gabe! This was another issue I was having, as well as my data. The huge data amounts were more pressing for me.. now I will start taking data on the speed of my system!
Lab-Lover