If Sonos is connected, I have no internet access

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Don23805
Freshman

If Sonos is connected, I have no internet access

Everything worked until yesterday when I had no internet connectivity.  I unplugged all the ethernet connections from the HT2000W, and my access returned.  So I plugged in each cable one by one to isolate the problem.  It turns out that plugging in the Sonos music system killed internet access.  [FYI, with Sonos you need to hardwire one unit to the router (I have 17), and the rest works via wifi].  I spent a couple hours with Sonos tech support swapping units, etc.  They have a nice utility that lets you send them a diagnostic file that can help find problems.  But since connecting the Sonos to  the router killed internet access, we couldn't do that.  He asked what kind of router I had and looked it up.  I'm not a router expert, but he said he was surprised that it worked as well as it did.  Perhaps in typical blame fashion, he suggested that perhaps it was an issue with the Hughes box.  Calling Hughes phone tech support was the usual losing proposition.  I've had much better luck on this forum.   So where to go from here.  Hughes thinks all is working and doesn't want to try replacing the router.  Another possibility is buying another router to put between the Hughes box and the local equipment and having it handle the house traffic.  Any suggestions?

TIA   Don

2 REPLIES 2
Damian

@Don23805,