cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Losing data allowance..help!

Losing data allowance..help!

I have been with HughesNet for over 11 years. I have been using a Wi-Fi router now for over 7 years, and have had a Kindle Fire HDX for the last year and a half. It is my primary device; I rarely turn on my laptop. In the last week or more, I have experienced a dramatically in data allowance. I have had to add tokens numerous times, and losing all that allowance within an hour or so. I have been on the phone with HughesNet numerous times, and they finally told me to call HDS for a complimentary evaluation. I called and for $130 they said they can fix the problem. Really??? I see no postings that tell me this problem has been fixed. I am not alone. Why am I suddenly losing data allowance...they recommended I upgrade my plan. That is not the solution. At the rate I am losing data, even the 50GB plan would not be enough. Any advice other than changing providers would be appreciated.
6 REPLIES 6
Alum

Re: Losing data allowance..help!

Hi Carol,

Thank you for your post and welcome to the community. I apologize your experience with us lately wasn't good, we'd like to help address your concerns. Please post a recent case number or the HughesNet modem's serial number (on the back/bottom) so we can pull up your account.

Also please follow these troubleshooting steps so we can get started addressing your unidentified usage concern:

Please take care in cropping out your SAN while taking the screenshots.

Keep in mind there are countless factors that can use your data. The most important tool to download is the Status Meter, available in the Customer Support Center, to help you monitor your data usage: supportcenter.myhughesnet.com. Finally, do you currently have a password for your WiFi network? I just want to rule out your networks security setup as a possible leak.