Manual throttling?

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
gypsy1
New Poster

Manual throttling?

When I ordered my Hughesnet service, the sales rep informed me that I could manually throttle back my service to avoid using my high speed data allowance.  This was a concern of mine because when my son is home we have easily gone over 40G in a month as children can be data monsters.  I need my high speed internet for work.  I am completely new to this technology. My previous service was a wifi hot spot through a cell phone service.  When I called tech support, I was told that I was misled and my modem could not do this.  I was told I would need a separate router?  Can anyone offer any tips or advice?  I have no idea what type of router I would need and even if I buy a router, what do I need to do to set it up to throttle back my speed myself?  

9 REPLIES 9
C0RR0SIVE
Associate Professor

If you are looking to help limit data usage due to video usage, make sure you have a Gen5 service plan, and enable the Video Data Saver function under the Usage Meter, OR by going to My Account > Settings and make sure the Video Data Saver is enabled (green).

I also suggest making sure your kids if streaming video, are streaming it in the lowest possible resolution, while the video data saver will cause a lower resolution to be used, this only works if using the services (youtube and similar) automated feature that tries to detect the best resolution for the speed you're streaming at.

You will also want to install adblockers on your browser.

As far as throttling, none of the Hughesnet modems offer this, and I am not aware of any consumer grade products that offer it either...  If you are tech savvy and can handle a steep learning curve, you may want to give PFSense a try as your network router/firewall.

The only other thing you can do...  Educate your children on data usage and explain to them that they need to conserve data as much as possible.  

BirdDog