Microsoft© Register Server ? Here we go again

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
yorkytime1
New Poster

Microsoft© Register Server ? Here we go again

I installed GlassWire on hubby's desktop computer.  He has been having issues with data drain too.  Well immediately notice Microsoft© Register Server was active and downloading.  So far 40 MB so I disconnected from Internet until free period.  What in the world is this?  Computer is running Windows 7 with updates turn off.  Also have an app installed to prevent Windows 10 from downloading and installing. 
How can I stop the Register Server from downloading OR can anyone tell me how large this download is.
26 REPLIES 26
Gwalk900
Honorary Alumnus

You may wish to read through these google search results:

https://www.google.com/?gws_rd=ssl#q=microsoft+register+server+windows+7

yorkytime1
New Poster

thanks.  off to do some more reading.  Hope I find the answer.
billmiller43

Hi, I worked as a project leader for the last 20 years of my career as a consultant. When I retired the PC's went into the trash. You can purchase a Mac for $100 on ebay, and never look back. Keep the PC, but we never allowed a PC to connect to the net at Lockheed. They are impossible to secure. You can run Windoz on a Mac, no problem.
billmiller43

Nice Yorkie! My "Benji" is a Yorkie also.
yorkytime1
New Poster

Bill,  No thanks.  I'm sticking with my PC.  However I might trash Microsoft and move to Linux system.  I'm studying the prospect of moving over.  Maybe running a duel operating system for those times I just must have MS.  I've checked most of my software will run just fine with Linux.
yorkytime1
New Poster

Thanks.  That is Dixon.  My pride and joy.  He is never far away from me.  Day or night he is my buddy.
Gwalk900
Honorary Alumnus

Yorkytime,
I never was a big fan of "boot loaders".