New Gen5 User: Performance is Terrible

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
kevsterini
New Poster

New Gen5 User: Performance is Terrible

I just got Gen5 installed.  This is my first experience with Satellite internet and so far it's terrible.  I live in an area where there's only 3 options, aweful DSL, Cellular hotspot, or Satellite.  I finally tried the satellite option.  They sell it as super fast but it's not at all.  I thought I'd try here to see if there are settings or something I should change to get it working as expected. 

Speeds:  The specs most people talk about are down and up but based on those it should be rocking and IT IS NOT.  I'm getting around 9 down and 2.8 up which compared to my old DSL is lightning.  The problem seems to be ping and jitter speeds.  My pings on the old DSL were 52 ms and jitter were 6.6 ms.  Gen 5 is showing a whopping 953 ms and jitter of 420 ms.  I'm not an internet expert at all but am curious how these metrics correlate to the performance issues we're all seeing.

Most of all I just want to know if there's anything I can tweak to improve it.  Any help would be appreciated.  Especially I'm stuck with a stupid 2 year contract now with this terrible slow internet.

Thanks

12 REPLIES 12
GabeU
Distinguished Professor IV

@kevsterini

What is your Satellite Name and Beam ID in the Satellite box (lower right) on the following page:  http://192.168.0.1/#!/home/information

With regard to the latency, though 953ms is a bit high, the latency of satellite internet will always be around 600ms or higher.  That can't be helped.  

EchoStar-19-NAD is my satellite and 66 is beam ID.  Why is this important?  Thanks for your interest in my complaint.

maratsade

It is important because it helps identify and narrow down the issue you are having. 

@kevsterini wrote:

EchoStar-19-NAD is my satellite and 66 is beam ID.  Why is this important?  Thanks for your interest in my complaint.

GabeU

@kevsterini