Problematic Speed Variance

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Beastshade
New Poster

Problematic Speed Variance

I have had Hughesnet for about +/- 17 months, the last 6 have had inconsistencies with speed to the point of disconnecting my internet and making even browsing difficult. I understand that due to the nature of satelite internet, latency is expected. Long periods of time with over 8k latency though is a bit much by any standards. Also, my speedtests have shown pretty consistent low speeds. Since I've had some experience with internet services, I've tried to troubleshoot it from my end but I can't find a problem or even a consistency of difficulty to point to a timeframe or occurance which would help me narrow down the cause. Sometimes I will try to run a speedtest and it will simply fail so testing with any reliability from my end is problematic. I've seen speedtests as low as .24 Mbps from testmy.net and as I write this I did a speedtest with a result of 1.58 Mbps so I'm working during a good time.

The modem is not near a source of EMI and is well ventilated. I've swaped ethernet cables. All three of my computers experience slow speeds/latency no matter how they are connected so it's a universal problem, not confined to a single PC. Checked the modem and it did not detect any active connections beyond my directly connected PC. Several times through the day, I had to refresh my browser because testmy.net would time out due to latency/connection issues. The following are my results, the hourly average shows my nighttime difficulty.

https://testmy.net/quickstats/BSRutherford