Hughesnet Community

Running out of gigs before half the month is past.

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
glaz2347
New Poster

Running out of gigs before half the month is past.

Today is the 7th of March and I am already 9% over the daily allotment. I don't stream anything. I don't click on likes or run videos. I read news stories and the comments, read my e mail and respond. I am a photographer and can't upload to social media because I run out of gigs . I do not want to get up at 2 am to use the 15 bonus gigs. Up until Jan. I always had gigs left over at the end of the month. What happened?
6 REPLIES 6
BirdDog
Assistant Professor

Depending on the photo quality you are uploading it can use a lot of data. Upload data counts on Gen 4 against your allowance.

Also, if you are Gen 4 you should have 50 GB of Bonus Data not 15 GB.

What is your allowance reset date?
GabeU
Distinguished Professor IV

What devices do you have connected to the service?  

No devices , only thing is my computer and netgear 20 wifi which is turned off. Also I am paying $109.35 a month yet the upgrade page says my plan is 79.99 why the huge difference?

Today is the 13th and I am at 11.4 gigs used. So far this month I have read the news on Msn & Aol and watched 2 episodes of the Grid with Scott Kelby- 1 hr 20min. each time.

My biggest problem with this is the change in usage didn't happen until the first of Jan. Up until then I did the same as I am doing now and usually had 5 or more gigs left at reset.

Thanks for any help you can give me in solving this without me having to give up the internet all together.

Hi glaz2347,

The subject data loss is one that I have spent a lot of time on. The root causes are many and varied.

Websites that we have used for years in some cases institute changes without our knowledge (increased ad content, auto-start videos ... the Big One .... HTML5 pre-fetch videos) that can really waste large amounts if data.