Slow Downloads speeds all day long/download speeds are good all day long

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
suttnertoo
Freshman

Slow Downloads speeds all day long/download speeds are good all day long

I am very frustrated with my download speeds (less than 1 meg).  This has been a problem for weeks and I just learned of this "community thing" yesterday.  Can't understand how my upload speeds can be higher than download.  Counterintuitive to every other service that I have used.  I have used Liz's recommendations for TMN.  They are similar to results with other speed tests that I have used including the one built in to the HughesNet site.  Here is the TMN link to my results: https://testmy.net/quickstats/suttnertoo   What's up with this product?  I am new to HughesNet (3 months) but this is not what I signed up for!

18 REPLIES 18
suttnertoo
Freshman

Sorry, should read upload speeds are good all day long.......

Hello Donald,

I am sorry to hear you are experiencing this. After running diagnostics on the account, your HughesNet system is running properly, however, your speed results are indeed lower than what we are seeing remotely. I see you have an external router broadcasting its networks at the same frequencies as your HT2000W modem. This can sometimes cause severe interference, resulting in intermittent connectivity or very slow download speeds. Since there is already a router built into the HughesNet modem, I recommend disabling its radios if you must use your external router. If you would like to test the speeds accurately, please connect directly to the HT2000W modem via LAN cable, and run these test again. A speed test in the morning and evening would be preferred. If you are still receiving slow speeds after doing this, I will investigate the equipment deeper. 

-Damian