cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Slow Speed

RiverDog
Sophomore

Re: Slow Speed

The Archer C7 is my router. I had it connected through a switch. The router is old so it could be defective. I connected my laptop directly to the modem and still got very slow speeds, 2.38 down and .39 up. i then tested with the desktop system, with nothing else connected, and got a .10 down and a .38 up. I will pick up a new router this weekend but won't connect till we can get the problem resolved. I still can't access the WIFI on the modem. Can you retest the modem when you get time and let me know what's going on? Thanks
GabeU
Distinguished Professor IV

Re: Slow Speed

@RiverDog 

 

The reps are on M-F from approximately 9AM to 6PM EST, so it won't be until at least Monday before you hear anything from Liz again.  I mention this just in case you started wondering why you weren't hearing back from her sooner.  


Ryzen 5 3400G | MSI B450M Pro-M2 MAX | 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4 3000 | XPG SX8200 Pro 512GB NVMe | Windows 10 Pro
Liz
Moderator
Moderator

Re: Slow Speed

Good morning RiverDog,

 

Thank you for the additional information. It's slow because you're still subject to the Fair Access Policy. I see you still have the complimentary token I provided. Is that visible on your end? If you log into your account and navigate to MyAccount > Usage, and click Buy Token under the Usage Meter, you should see that there's a token available for you to use to restore regular speeds. 

 

Until you use a token or wait until the data allowance resets on the 26th, speeds will be reduced. If you can't see the free token, please let me know.

 

-Liz

 

 

If you have a tech or billing question and need help, please start a new thread in the appropriate board. Unsolicited Private Messages may not get replies.

Slow performance? Click me!

RiverDog
Sophomore

Re: Slow Speed

I appreciate the token Liz but I just checked at 2:24 AM on testmy.net and I show a.3 download and a .3 upload. I am not in FAP status after 2:00 and have 79% bonus left. I also am getting dropped service on my tablet. That just started today.

 

Capture.JPG

 

Liz
Moderator
Moderator

Re: Slow Speed

Thanks RiverDog. Do you have your testmy.net results URL? That way we can keep track of all your results in one place. Were these run using the 25 MB test file size? If not, here's how to select the 25 MB test file size for your download speed tests

 

I'll send you another token, I want to be sure you're using the token data while running a few more speed tests.

 

Your cooperation, patience, and understanding are much appreciated.

 

Thanks,

Liz

 

 

If you have a tech or billing question and need help, please start a new thread in the appropriate board. Unsolicited Private Messages may not get replies.

Slow performance? Click me!

RiverDog
Sophomore

Re: Slow Speed


@Liz wrote:

Thanks RiverDog. Do you have your testmy.net results URL? That way we can keep track of all your results in one place. Were these run using the 25 MB test file size? If not, here's how to select the 25 MB test file size for your download speed tests

 

I'll send you another token, I want to be sure you're using the token data while running a few more speed tests.

https://testmy.net/quickstats/RiverDog?type=user_name&q=RiverDog&limit=25 

 

Here's a link to the tests. I just used what testmy.net determined as a size. I will set up another test using 25MB as soon as I sign out. I did install the second token install and will not be using any computer equiptment for hours. Before I retired I was a network admin for many years. I realize things take time and I'm not the only problem that Hughes has. Eventually we will get a solution. My biggest concern is if the Inrernet is down, I can't use my phone. I live in the middle of nowhere (and love it) and have no cell service. I also have extreme health problems and need ambulance service at unexpected times.

 

 


 

Liz
Moderator
Moderator

Re: Slow Speed

Thanks for the link, this helps. I also appreciate your patience and understanding. Regarding your Voice service, thankfully, whether you have data or not, your HughesNet Voice service will still work.

 

-Liz

If you have a tech or billing question and need help, please start a new thread in the appropriate board. Unsolicited Private Messages may not get replies.

Slow performance? Click me!

RiverDog
Sophomore

Re: Slow Speed

Just a little more info, I attempted a 12 hour test and it never completed and also wasn't recorded. I had this message on the screen.

" Secure Connection Failed"

"An error occured during a connection to dallas7.testmy.net"

"The page you are trying to view cannot be shown because the authenticity of the received data could not be verified"

"Please contact the website owners to inform them of this problem"

 

Around midnight I started using my tablet and after about 15 minutes I lost all internet.That lasted about 20 minutes than everything was normal. Around 4:30 AM I tried a 25MB test and I checked it at 4:56 and it had completed 1.3MB and was locked up. I startea another 25MB at 5:00AM and received the "Secure Connection Failed" error again with the only difference bet the server was at ny.testmy.net. The computer power settings is set to never shut off (except the monitors) I have done a SFC check with no errors.

Screenshot 2021-07-14 045557.jpg

Liz
Moderator
Moderator

Re: Slow Speed

Hi RiverDog, 

 

Thank you, I do see in your test results that no new tests with the 25 MB file size were recorded. Looking at your account now, I do see that you have the data tokens applied. So did you try to run a few individual speed tests using the 25 MB file size (not including the 12 hr test, we normally don't request those) while running on token data?

 

I'd like to confirm what speeds you're getting while using token data.

 

-Liz

If you have a tech or billing question and need help, please start a new thread in the appropriate board. Unsolicited Private Messages may not get replies.

Slow performance? Click me!

RiverDog
Sophomore

Re: Slow Speed

I never finished using the desktop system. It would get a little less than 2 MB and just quit working. i've waited over 20 minutes and there was no change. I hocked my laptop up and ran 4 tests at 25MB. I averaged from 14.85 to 8.32 MB. this tells me there is something in the desktop not working right. I still think there are other problems, possibly in the modem since I can't access the WIFI area. I could also be alignment. let me see if I can see what's happening on this end and leave the ticket open. Unless i hear from you it will probably be a couple of days or so. Here's a link to my last test results.

https://testmy.net/db/yfwWzfbHc 

 

Thank you,

Tags (1)