cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
chelsea90
Freshman

Slow internet since the beginning

Hello,

I am new to HughesNet since the beginning of September and have had problems with slow internet from day 1. I have called customer service a few time and have spoke to the enigineers as well. What usually happens is I talk to the representative and either my internet will speed up a little bit where we can somewhat use it and then it will become slow again or my internet just doesn't speed up. We also have the issue where it states the speed is good but when we try to use the internet, it is really slow. My fiance and I both stream videos (I watch movies on Netflix and he watches Youtube videos) and we are both unable to watch at the same time. One will work while the other buffers and then stops working. This doesn't happen all the time but it happens the majority of the time. I understand that tests have to be done and I don't mind doing all that but I am frustrated because I am paying for this service that is not delivering to their promise of fast internet. All I want is to be able to watch movies on Netflix and Youtube. I am not sure what to do anymore because everytime I've called, the issue is somewhat resolved and then comes back. I am not sure if we need someone to come out and check everything but as of right now, I am not happy with my service! 

30 REPLIES 30
BirdDog
Assistant Professor

Hi chelsea90, it would help to know what speeds you are getting.

Aside from that, the definition being streamed makes a huge impact. I'm honestly not sure how well the video data saver option HughesNet provides works from my experience but always choose lower defintions at the streaming site. Nothing above 360p unless a very short video clip. May want to turn the data saver off and see if controlling the definition manually provides better results.