cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Slow speeds and Data gone. I would like a refund.

New Poster

Slow speeds and Data gone. I would like a refund.

Typically when a product or service becomes unbearable I just stop using it.

I am new to HughesNet. My installation was less than a month ago. For the the first 20 days everything worked great. On day 21, my service came to a halt, when I checked the usage meter is showed my 10 gigabyte data plan was used up. Okay, now it seems I have to buy tokens to keep using the service. I bought an additional 5 gigabytes for $15 --- my logic was if I used 10 gigs for 20 days, then an additional 5 gigs would carry me through another 9 days, wrong. The next morning, the 5 gigs I bought were used up. - I called customer support and they could not find the problem, they recommended I upgrade to a larger data plan. - I don't mind paying for service, so I agreed and upgraded to the 30 gigabyte data plan. The very next morning I see the 30 gigs are used up, what the heck! - This makes no sense, why would it work fine for 20 days and then suddenly become so terrible.

And, there's another bigger problem, why does my service stop working in the evenings, it seems like everyday around 4-5PM this service comes to halt, basically no internet, pages take forever to load, I mean staring at a blank screen for 30-60 seconds and forget about YouTube, NetFlix or OnDemand shows, those don't exist for us anymore.

I started reading these forums yesterday to see if maybe I was doing something wrong, I was very surprised to see so many negative posts and comments about the same issue I am having, and a google search reveals a much larger problem since there are so many videos and blog posts saying the same thing about this service.