cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

So many problems, I don't know where to start

So many problems, I don't know where to start

First, does Hughesnet actually have an IT development team working on their user interface and tools?  Several web pages I have visited crash, the monitor tool is a joke, bonus bytes are an insult.  I work in IT.  This would never be acceptable for implementation even for internal users.  Most of the time, when I try to go to the statistics tab in the monitor, I get a never ending spinning wheal.  Today after clicking on it repeatedly for a while, It came up but didn't show me anything past the end of December.  Until I extended the view to 2 weeks.  Then it showed me The first part of January followed by December.  Apparently they don't know how to sort dates and took the cheap way out and just sorted by month and day.  

Hughes net determines how many bytes are used, but their tools don't give you the ports, and times of the usage so you can find out what is using all of your bandwidth.  And waiting till 2:00 am to download large files is just ridiculous. And is that 2:00 eastern, central, pacific?  I set my alarm for 4:00 am central this morning, downloaded several DirecTv on-demand shows and verified they were finished downloading by 7am central. It used a good bit of my bonus bytes as anticipated, but apparently took a chunk out of my anytime bytes as well.  It all should have been under bonus bytes unless my timezone is wrong, or I got double billed.

I'm stuck in a 2 year contract, and right now Hughes Net is the only game in town unless I want a $500 a month T3.  
11 REPLIES 11
New Poster

Re: So many problems, I don't know where to start

Chip what version of the meter are you using, what OS are you using and what Hughes System do you have?
Advanced Tutor

Hi Chip,

Try Glasswire for a data use reporting tool. It will show usage by individual process and port.