System light out on modem

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JJL
New Poster

System light out on modem

I am not tech savvy but can anyone tell me if they have run across this problem? I have tried everrything they suggested and nothing is working. I went as far as going out and getting a new router. I am renting the modem now can anyone suggests a modem to purchase that will work with hughesnet 

7 REPLIES 7
GabeU
Distinguished Professor IV

@JJL 

Only HughesNet's own modem will work with their service.   You can use a 3rd party WiFi router alongside the modem if you wish, but the modem itself must be from HughesNet.  

Preferably with a device that is connected to the modem with a LAN cable, if you can get to the following modem page....

http://192.168.0.1/#!/home/status

... what do you see listed for the State Code in the System Summary box near the top of the page (both the number and the corresponding description)?  

The reps will likely want to run remote diagnostics on your HughesNet equipment, so if you don't normally do so it would be a good idea to leave your HughesNet modem plugged in.  If they can't locate your HughesNet account by your Community sign on information they may ask for some personal information to be given through a Private Message so they can do so.

The system summary box says12.7.1--A transmit problem occurred.

@JJL,

The state code you provided is almost always associated with poor weather/cloud coverage. When researching your area, I see that there has been cloud coverage as well as rain over the past few days. Once the weather clears up in your area, please power cycle the modem and update me here if anything changes. If not we will need to perform deeper troubleshooting.

-Damian  

Light is still out. I have had hughesnet for  almost two years and have never lost the connection in any kind of weather except for very severe thunder or snowstorms.