cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unsatisfied with Service

Highlighted
Spectator

Unsatisfied with Service

I'm new to Hughes.  When speaking with the salesperson, I asked questions about what happens when I hit my limit.  I was advised that I could still stream, but probably wouldn't be able to game.  I don't game anyway, so I wasn't concerned about that.  The salesperson could not specifically identify what the speed would drop to, but assured me that streaming and VPN would work fine at the lower speed.  Now, I see that I get reduced to 1 MB or less.  I can't VPN on that, and can just barely stream Netflix.  Further, I have WiFi calling on my cell phone, which is the only way I can use it where I live.  With speed being that slow, I can't even have a voice call.  I'm terribly unsatisfied with the service, especially after being told that I would still be able to perform "normally" at reduced speed.  Plus, even within one month, I wanted to swtich back to DSL, but Hughes tells me I have to pay $400 to get out of my contract.  Again, the salesperson told me $200, which I might go ahead and do.  The only suggestions I get from Hughes is to buy tokens.  Really?  3GB for $9?  No thanks.  If I'm using that much in a day, you're going to break me if I do that.  I feel like I was lied to by sales, and accounting won't let me cancel within 3 weeks of having service.  I'm disgusted, and won't recommend this service to anyone ever.

3 REPLIES 3
Highlighted
Distinguished Professor IV

Re: Unsatisfied with Service

jeremy2110, 

With you feeling that you were misled, you can request a review of the sales call, though your post may be enough for the rep to do so without having to ask.  You may have recourse.   

With that said, WiFi calling is not supported with Hughesnet, no matter the speed.  If you can get it to work, that's a plus, but again, it's not supported.  

And with that said, Hughesnet does offer their own VOIP service.