Video streaming stopping/buffering very bad

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
DerekD
New Poster

Video streaming stopping/buffering very bad

Hello, i had just started with Hughesnet 3 weeks ago and from day 1 could not stream video without it buffering every 3 seconds. VERY frustrating. I very rarely watch any video online but my wife likes to watch her soaps at night and has a hard time. You know what they say happy wife happy life SO i tried to take the bull by the horns and fix it myself since i am a little tech savvy. i have read some posts on here to try different things. basically i had go on Hulu and low the video quality to low and make sure everything in the house was not connected to the wifi. The video did get better but still buffers every 20 to 30 seconds. I am so disappointed in this. Please help. I was so excited to get Hughesnet since i was on a DSL with only a 1.5 mbps but did not buffer at all and now to go to a service witch advertises multiple devices streaming at the same time but i cant do one. i have done multiple speed tests with having a few just a little over 3.0 mbps. One more thing to top this off, the technician that installed the dish left bolts and nuts loose on the dish and left tools on the dish AND had mud on the carpet inside our house!

5 REPLIES 5
GabeU
Distinguished Professor IV

@DerekD

If you haven't already, please try pausing, or turning off, the Video Data Saver.   This may help with the buffering issue.  You can pause, or turn off, the Video Data Saver both through the HughesNet Usage Meter, under Video Settings, or at the HughesNet MyAccount site, under Settings.  

What is Video Data Saver?