cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What happens?

What happens?

I am new to the community. I have been subscribing to HughesNet since 2009 and have never used all my data or time on the internet. What happens when you use all your time?
18 REPLIES 18
Junior

Re: What happens?

Hi maryandjerry,
After you use all your data allowance you are throttled back. This is known as FAP (Fair Access Policy)

IF you enjoy your internet often then you have not upgraded to Gen 4 and i highly advise you not to... I NEVER ran out of broadband and i didnt even turn my internet off when i went to bed at night.. then i did the gen 4 thing.. now im down one third of my months allowance already and its only the 13th.. it refilled on the 7th.. February..      now i find out why!   before gen 4 the broadband was replenished every 24 hours now its replenished every 30 days or so.. that means that with gen 4 your broadband  is probably cut over 100 percent.. i gave up math a long time ago and do not wish to calculate it ..its just too worrisome but i betcha its a huge cut and hughesnet is getting rich off it.. for awhile.. i expect a huge law suite over it any day now and im gonna be top of the list.  
Assistant Professor

Just to clarify, satellite internet is not broadband, it is high-speed. There is a big difference.
Junior

Hi maryandjerry,
I began my HN experience with Gen4 and have never had an other kind of service. It's quite adequate and only when I was on the smallest plan available did I have any problems using up all my data.
I upgraded to the middle plan and had plenty of data to last me for the month except that there were periods that I did some large downloads of OSes and such. I found it cheaper to upgrade my plan again rather than buying tokens.
In finality, Gen4 has worked wonderfully for me.

Don  Smiley Happy