What's the problem with beam 68??

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JAS
Freshman

What's the problem with beam 68??

I have seen some posts saying that people were having trouble with download speeds if they were on beam 68 ... can you all weigh in on this issue. I am new to Gen5 - on beam 68 - and having terrible trouble with download speeds. The system is VERY frustrating ....

Thanks - Joe Simcoe

15 REPLIES 15
maratsade
Distinguished Professor IV

They're having speed issues with Beam 68, especially in the evenings. They're working on the problem.

C0RR0SIVE
Associate Professor

Aedan
Senior

Hello JAS and Maratsade,

Please check your private messages in the top right-hand corner, as I have sent you more information pertaining to this issue. Thanks.

-Aedan
Reggie
Teaching Assistant

Is there a new beam footprint for Gen5 available yet?

Reggie
Teaching Assistant

WOW

This community is going down hill so fast it is not worth coming to for those that want to learn.

REGGIE

C0RR0SIVE
Associate Professor

Hello Reggie,

Thanks for posting. Is there a particular location that you need more information about? Thanks.

-Aedan
Reggie
Teaching Assistant

@Aedan wrote:

Hello Reggie,

Thanks for posting. Is there a particular location that you need more information about? Thanks.

Thank you for responding. No, I was wondering why HN won't post a map of the spotbeams & gateways.

Reggie
Teaching Assistant

I just wanted to add to my research of Gen5 before I ask for an update. I guess I got the answer I needed to make up my mind.

Thank you

Gwalk900
Honorary Alumnus

Hi Reggie,

While Hughes may not volunteer a lot of information, some data is publicly available.

If a user was so inclined they could go to http://www.satbeams.com/satellites?norad=41893 and put beam numbers with the map that has been posted.