cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Will not go to Yahoo.

Freshman

Will not go to Yahoo.

Will not open any Yahoo site: Disabled Accelarator, complete reboot, cleared all temp files and cookies. This happened a few months ago and a supervisor replaced the modem and then it worked fine. Now it's doing the same. It will just time out while trying to load.

15 REPLIES 15
Freshman

Okay moderators, no response????

I have no response from anyone? Much like when we are told your support people will call back? This is an ongoing problem that you folks have responded to with no results. Can't get into Yahoo for anything. Had this problem about two months ago and a supervisor sent a new modem and then Yahoo was easily accessed. Now it's doing the same again and no one wants to respond??????????????

Associate Professor

Re: Okay moderators, no response????

Distinguished Professor IV

Re: Okay moderators, no response????

@mueller

 

There's no need to start a second thread about the same issue.   

 


AMD FX-6100 | Samsung 250GB 840 EVO SSD | Western Digital Blue 500GB HDD | 16GB DDR3-1866 | EVGA Geforce GTX 550ti | Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Distinguished Professor IV

Re: Will not go to Yahoo.

@mueller

 

I don't know for sure that this will help, but you could try changing your adapter's DNS server settings from Hughesnet's to Google's.  It couldn't hurt to try.    

 

Google's IPv4 server settings:

 

8.8.8.8

8.8.4.4

 

Google's IPv6 server settings:

 

2001:4860:4860::8888

2001:4860:4860::8844

    


AMD FX-6100 | Samsung 250GB 840 EVO SSD | Western Digital Blue 500GB HDD | 16GB DDR3-1866 | EVGA Geforce GTX 550ti | Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Highlighted

Re: Okay moderators, no response????

I see your initial post shows 6 hours ago, which would have been around 3 PM eastern time.   Moderators are only here til around 5 PM eastern.   So being posted so late in the day they were probably dealing with other things and didn't get to your post yet...  like @C0RR0SIVE said it could be up to 48 hours for them to respond. 

Moderator

Re: Will not go to Yahoo.

Hi mueller,

 

Sorry about the delay! I see that you've already gotten in contact with the corporate representative, William, regarding this issue and a callback was scheduled for yesterday after 5PM. Did this call occur? 

 

~Amanda

Assistant Professor

Re: Okay moderators, no response????


@mueller wrote:

again and no one wants to respond??????????????


I'm not a moderator and I'll respond. Have you tried doing a traceroute to see if maybe it's not HughesNet causing the problem?

 

Nine times out of ten when you have a problem going to a specific domain it's a busted routing table. Sometimes this is from going to sketchy web sites. Sometimes it's from HughesNet's provider, one hop away from the gateway.

 

A traceroute would let you know if it's local or not.

 

If it is local, simply rebooting your modem, computer, and associated routers would solve the problem.
Why all three? They all cache the routing tables.


* Disclaimer: I am a HughesNet customer and not a HughesNet employee. All of my comments are my own and do not necessarily represent HughesNet in any way.
Freshman

Re: Will not go to Yahoo.

Amanda,  Yes Amanda the call was made, but the problem is I'm at work and can't be in front of my computer. I don't get home until after 5:00. Apparently I'm suppose take time off work? Is there any supervisors that work after 5:00? William, the supervisor I worked with in the past really tries hard to get things working right. The last time this happened he sent a new modem and everything worked just fine until now.  My lap top will go into Yahoo sites via other internet carriers such as my school, local library, and neighbor's internet which happens to be Hughes.  

Freshman

Re: Okay moderators, no response????

Rebooting of all has been done with no improvement. Thanks for your help