cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

not sure what to do here?

Highlighted

not sure what to do here?

I am new to hughsnet and I have not seen speeds this low but..... We are rocking 2.2 down at most. They have said the desktop has something running that is slowing it down. The other items we have are running slow because of apps. All of the devices I have require wifi to some extent due to the new technology that is required for the children's classrooms. All of the items besides the desktop require apps to run. This is pretty heartbreaking for us.
4 REPLIES 4
Assistant Professor

Re: not sure what to do here?

Adding to what jezra said, say you have a a plan with "up to" speed of 10 Mbps and you have four devices using WiFi at the same time. If they all streamed the same video at the same time then the speed would be divided among them, equaling about 2.5 Mbps each at best. This is assuming you are getting the max "up to" speed although many users experience slower speeds during peak times in the evenings and on weekends.

In short, satellite speed is not that fantastic to begin with and the more devices you have online at one time the slower it will be for everyone.

It is important to establish what speed is like with one computer connected directly to the modem.

What kind of apps are you referring to that the devices are running? Make sure the desktop and other devices are not set to download updates automatically.
Alum

Hi rueckert,