cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How+is+it+that+Hughes+Net+can+provide+internet+services+but+noy+Wi+Fi?

Highlighted

How+is+it+that+Hughes+Net+can+provide+internet+services+but+noy+Wi+Fi?

I've been trying to connect my wireless printer(Canon MG3620) to my PC(Toshiba laptop). Spoke to Hughes Net tech support and he transferred me to someone I thought was trying to scam me.  Why is it that Hughes Net doesn't provide wifi?  I am very new to the pc world.  Am I missing something?
14 REPLIES 14
Honorary Alumnus

Re: How+is+it+that+Hughes+Net+can+provide+internet+services+but+noy+Wi+Fi?

You are missing a router.
Hughes is an ISP.
The service stops at the modems LAN port.
If a customer chooses to network their connection the they have to set up a network.
If you need help with that we here in the Community will be more than happy to help.
Distinguished Professor III

Connecting your wireless printer to your computer has nothing to do with Hughesnet.  That is your responsibility.  Hughesnet only provides internet, nothing more. 

But, as Gwalk stated, there are people on here who would be happy to help you with this. 

AMD FX-6100 | Samsung 250GB 840 EVO SSD | Western Digital Blue 500GB HDD | 16GB DDR3-1866 | EVGA Geforce GTX 550ti | Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Alum

Hi Mel,

Welcome and thanks for posting. As stated by Gwalk and Gabe, you'll need a wireless router set up to print. Unless you would rather physically connect from your printer to laptop via USB cable. Which ever is more convenient. Did your printer come with an installation CD or a pamphlet with an address to go to and download its software? Hope to hear from you soon.

Thank you,
Chris 
Assistant Professor

Could try setting up a virtual WiFi router on the laptop. Never tried one myself.

Just one available: https://virtualrouter.codeplex.com/

I have a router but not a wireless router connected to modem and pc.  I do have an address to download. Thanks, Mel

Chris,