Hughesnet Community

I've been managing my own finances for almost 2 decades and this is BY FAR the worst service provider I have encountered.

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Dick Molsbee

I've been managing my own finances for almost 2 decades and this is BY FAR the worst service provider I have encountered.

HughesNet customer service will not fix your problems, just remind you that your under contract and tell you when the contract expires. I was asked to purchase a DSL line, download new version of Windows ($79), and get a voltmeter device so I could see if the issue was 100% in their equipment. I spent a total of 7:18 on the phone during 5 different calls on the same issue and was given the run-around each time the entire remaining 7 months of my contract. They apologized, but never offered to send someone to replace their faulty equipment. I paid $89/month for more than a half year for a blinking box in my utility room, no internet at all. They often reminded me that they were the only wireless internet provider in my area, emphasizing that Dish network contracts their services for internet. I was never refunded for my purchases, one month my bill was actually about $25 lower after numerous complaints.

8 REPLIES 8
GabeU
Distinguished Professor IV

You were asked to purchase a DSL line?  Hughesnet requested that you purchase a competitor's service?  When you say DSL line, are you talking about a cable of some sort?  Ethernet?  Coaxial? 

DSL is a type of internet service. 

Hughesnet themselves requested that you purchase a voltmeter to test their equipment? 

Amanda

Hello Dick Molsbee