Some upgrade. Dialup is faster than this

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
D_J_M
Freshman

Some upgrade. Dialup is faster than this

So, after almost ten years my old HT1000 system gave up the ghost back in September and I was offered a free "upgrade. Now, one caveat: I was still on the old bird here after everyone else had moved on. Bandwidth was good and I could almost watch an entire 30 minute youtube clip uninterrupted. I finally felt like, after a decade of service I was finally getting my money's worth.

Now's the part where I swear. I've been shelling out $100 a month for this service for almost 20 years without missing a beat. I rarely complain. But after they "upgraded" my system they also migrated me to the new bird. NOW... I can barely check my ph...king email and my news and social media websites usually load full of broken image links (and I block ads to help reduce the load).

I just tried to take HN speed test here and it took three tries, it kept timing out. And it's been like this since my "upgrade".

Right now, I'm THIS CLOSE to seeking legal advice because this is a ripoff! Plain and simple.

6 REPLIES 6
Remy

D_J_M,

Thank you for reaching out! We'd love to help out. Upon researching your account, it seems that an upgrade of service wasn't performed, but we did supply you with a new HT2000W modem. The reason behind this is we are longer producing HT1100s. You subsequently received a technician visit, as the modem you received was having trouble activating. You're currently on our Gen4 Power MAX plan, which is an older plan. Did a service agent you spoke with state that you'd have your plan upgraded? In addition, the tech notes state that a reflector was replaced, but it doesn't appear that you were repointed to another satellite. Are you having issues while both directly connected and via WiFi?

Thanks,

Remy