cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

only 1-2 mbps ?

dmnmay
Freshman

only 1-2 mbps ?

hello everybody, i am new to hughes net. i realize the differerence between cable & sattalite service. i only get 0.50 - 1.90 mbps during the day & 2-3 mbps around 3:am in the morning. netflix recomends 6 mbps to function decent. i have only seen 4 mbps twice but never anything higher than that? i have lowered the netflix to the minimum setting and did reboot it to take affect. i am using a roku wifi and i have also turned off all other devices and plugged it directly into the modom with the same results? i am curently using two TV with roku on wifi but only have one turned on at a time. with all my other devices turned off does the two tv with roku still use data even if i am not watching anything? with everything off and one tv playing netflix at 8Smiley Tonguem it buffers & drops more than it plays? and even at 3:am it drops netflix about every 20 -30 minutes? its been a month and lost service already due to a faulty modom? maybe its just my area? im running out of patience. does anybody have any other sugestions? hughes said it was becouse i had 4 devices linked and had not lowered netflix quality. but it is still the same after i tried all that? i missed charter/spectrum by 2 miles....my verizon phone gets 7 mbps during the day & 10 mbps during the evening. why cant hughes give me at least 6 for netflix? my only other option is viasat or dish but i dont need all that stuff i just want internet & netflix..... any thoughts or suggestions will be greatly appriciated. thanks in advance.

6 REPLIES 6
maratsade
Distinguished Professor III

Re: only 1-2 mbps ?

Verizon is a terrestrial service and so their latency is low, which is why you may be able to watch streaming videos with it.  HughesNet is a satellite service and as such suffers from unavoidable high latency inherent in satellite communications due to the distance the signal has to travel.