cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

phone suddenly non-operational

oboe1960
New Member

phone suddenly non-operational

phone had been working fine for several months until last week, when it would cut out after a minute or two of use.  Now we have no phone service at all:  no dial tone, nothing.   Can't call for service (because we have no phone!)  Nothing has changed on this end.  Apparently voice service can't be handled on-line?  How can I get help please.  Thanks.
7 REPLIES 7
Liz
Moderator
Moderator

Re: phone suddenly non-operational

Good morning oboe1960,

Welcome and thanks for posting. We can certainly help address your HughesNet Voice concerns. Please confirm that your ATA is set up properly with cables secured on each end; it should look like this:



If you don't already have this, this is the user guide for your Voice service: http://voice.hughesnet.com/installguide/ Page ten is where it goes into detail about how where to plug everything in. It's very important that if you have a router, that the ATA is between the modem and the router. If the router is connected to the modem first, and the ATA is connected to the router, that can cause problems. 

Then please ensure this is the power supply that's plugged into the ATA:


Then at the back of the ATA, make sure your phone is plugged into the PHONE 1 port. The HughesNet modem should be plugged into the INTERNET port. Finally, if applicable, your router should be plugged into the ETHERNET port. 




If any connection feels loose, please let me know, that could be a cause of no dial tone.

After verifying your setup, please let me know which lights you see lit up on the ATA. Under normal conditions, all three lights should be solid green. 

Your cooperation and patience are much appreciated and I look forward to hearing back from you.

Thanks,
Liz
If you have a tech or billing question and need help, please start a new thread in the appropriate board. Unsolicited Private Messages may not get replies.

oboe1960
New Member

Re: phone suddenly non-operational

Hi, thanks for responding.  Everything is set up properly and has been since installation.  I have one solid green light on the left (power), a rapidly-flickering green light next to that (ethernet?) and so lights at all where the phone lines are indicated.
oboe1960
New Member

Re: phone suddenly non-operational

that should read "no" lights for the phone lines
oboe1960
New Member

Re: phone suddenly non-operational

we really need this phone; our cellphones have no service where we live.  Smiley Sad
Liz
Moderator
Moderator

Re: phone suddenly non-operational

Thank you for the confirmation, oboe1960.  I'm going to run some remote diagnostics on your site to double-check your internet and HughesNet equipment. I'll post back once I have further instructions or information for you.

I appreciate your cooperation, patience, and understanding.

Thanks,
Liz
If you have a tech or billing question and need help, please start a new thread in the appropriate board. Unsolicited Private Messages may not get replies.

oboe1960
New Member

Re: phone suddenly non-operational

Thanks!  my husband found the trouble; it was a bad extension cord!  we put in a different one and it is working fine now.  Sorry for the trouble.
Liz
Moderator
Moderator

Re: phone suddenly non-operational

Wonderful! Thank you for letting me know what happened. Glad to hear that all is well. If you have any concerns with your HughesNet Voice or even your HughesNet internet service, please don't hesitate to post back, we can help you out.

-Liz
If you have a tech or billing question and need help, please start a new thread in the appropriate board. Unsolicited Private Messages may not get replies.