cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
dodds206
New Poster

Underhanded, Misleading and Dishonest

Dear Hughesnet Customer Care, 

First, it is unbelievable to me that when speaking to a Customer Service Agent that they have no one over them that can take a call that needs more clarification than they can provide. To me that says that they can "say" or "speak" to any of your customer as they would like. I certainly hope that there is someone over them that is monitoring their phone calls and able to take escalated calls as needed. I worked in customer service for years and this is not common practice.

Second, onto how unbelievably sneaky and underhanded this company is; first, we waited almost 4 weeks for our installation of our internet as the technicians did not have the correct tools with them, on the third visit we finally received internet. We never complained or said anything we just lived without internet, not impossible. We get it, we live in Minnesota and sometimes weather can play a part in service, but that was not always the case here. We then paid over $200 for installation, and our monthly fee since. We have now sold our home, and are being told its another $300+ for disconnect and we have to mail all the equipment back to you or its an additional $300+. 

Third, this is a month to month contract. UNLESS, you decide to terminate because of a move, then you suddenly need to have used their services for 24 months. So, I was told that if I we used Hughesnet again at our new residence (which it is out of the area) then there would be no termination fee, but my question is; would I have to pay another $200+ for another hookup? 

This is terrible that you operate like this. In our move we have had to notify several companies to terminate our business with them, not one of them has charged an additional fee for it. And most cases we are not using the same company at our new residence.