Security Cameras

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
hollyn1222
New Poster

Security Cameras

Hello, Does anyone have suggestions on which ones work best with HughesNet gen 5? As I am really wanting some but not sure about them.

25 REPLIES 25
MarkJFine
Professor

I'm not an expert, but from what I understand, ones that are cloud-based should work. Don't get anything that needs to be IP-addressable because it can't be seen from outside the HughesNet network.

Understand that either way, cameras will use a lot of data. Recommend one that's motion-sensor activated to reduce the amount of video it collects. Being able to reduce the pixel resolution and speed will also help reduce data consumption.

@BirdDogmight have additional tips.

* Disclaimer: I am a HughesNet customer and not a HughesNet employee. All of my comments are my own and do not necessarily represent HughesNet in any way.

I have what i believe is P2P tech dog web cam by Vstoy, once it was set up, it connects and goes offline??  I do not know if my issue is the same as others because it sounds like the camera i have should be compatible.  This whole thing has been very frustrating for a non tech savy person. 

BirdDog
Assistant Professor

I have several Nest cameras and they work fine on HughesNet. They are cloud based so no static IP is needed.

However, like Mark says, they can use a lot of data under certain situations:

1. If left on all the time (24/7) they will use a lot of data, especially if placed where there is normally people/pets moving around in view of the camera, as the video is being uploaded to the cloud. Stream data amount to the cloud reduces drastically if view is static.