Hughesnet Community

New user with ethernet and wifi set up questions.

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
2yearwait
Freshman

New user with ethernet and wifi set up questions.

Hello all, 
I'm new to satelite internet and my installation was a few days ago. I have some questions.

My backstory: I sort of rushed into contracting for this service because my last ISP wasn't capable of shipping me a new modem. Their shipping department had failed to ship it after 3 weeks and 3 requests by customer service. So, I gave up on them and HughesNet was the only option available to me in my rural setting. Frankly, I'm not sure if I will be happy with satelite internet (from any company) because I do enjoy streaming videos, taking classes with long video lectures online and steaming music. Even though I did mention all that to the salesman, he assured me I would be able to watch Amazon Prime videos, youtube and stream music and podcasts with this service. So did customer service, when I called in after installation, fearful that I'd made the wrong decision. They assured me that one person, with one computer will be able to view several movies per day and stream videos at will as well as other online activities without exceeding the limits of the 20GB plan. Well, I hope so, but after reading this forum, I am unsure. However, I am resigned to making the next two years as painless as possible and have been trying to learn everything I can about managing my data and keeping my usage under the limits while still enjoying the benefits of an internet connection.

My technical situation: