Hp office jet pro series

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Robp1
Junior

Hp office jet pro series

I had to buy a new printer because my trusty Epson finally died after 6 years. I’m new to WiFi printers, and it was easy to install on the network. My question is. Why does it chronicly light up? I am not printing, but it’s always hooking to the network. Is this a normal thing? Any advice would be great.

Thanks

Rob
4 REPLIES 4
GabeU
Distinguished Professor IV

When you say "chronically light up", what do you mean?   Do you mean the control panel on the printer itself?  

Once a WiFi connected printer is initially connected to the network, said printer will always be connected to that network if it, the printer, is turned on.    

I had to connect a new Brother monochrome laser printer for my folks, and it's the first time I've ever connected a printer via WiFi.  Every time they power up their system (HughesNet and computer) their computer gives them "printer connection failure" notices if the printer isn't turned on, as well.  I've searched and searched through the settings and I can't find anything, thus far, that will stop this.  They use their computer nearly every day, yet print something perhaps once a month.  It's stupid that they need to have the printer on all the time.   😞 

Anytime a wireless device (iPad, iPhone, MacBook) gets near the printer pops on. For the laser I have a brother as well but I rember reading (mine is wireless but I do not have it network connected) if you want to connect it wirelessly you need to add it using the printers ip address. The printer software will try to over ride the ip address and make a automatic wired connection. You should be able to get the printers IP in the settings menu on screen.
GabeU
Distinguished Professor IV

@Robp1

I should have explained a little more thoroughly.