Windows 10 Creators Update - Remember to backup your computer

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
GabeU
Distinguished Professor IV

Windows 10 Creators Update - Remember to backup your computer

As with any major update, including the Creators Update, always remember to backup your computer before installing that update.  

For those of you that don't know, Windows 10 has a built in utility that allows you to create a system image, which can be saved on an external drive, a sizeable flash drive, or even DVDs (it will take many).  

There are many articles on the net on how to create a system image, and how to use it to restore your computer in the event of a problem.  

20 REPLIES 20
maratsade

I'm totally reckless. I didn't back up anything....

GabeU

You're lucky it worked.  🙂  

maratsade

@GabeU wrote:

You're lucky it worked.  🙂  

Oh yeah! So far the stars/gods/sundry magical beings have been on my side. 🙂

@maratsade

Back when I worked in IT the saying was "If the data doesn't exist in three places, the data doesn't exist."

Granted our three places included two cassette tapes which failed all the time.

maratsade

@Matt_Is_My_Name wrote:

@maratsade

Back when I worked in IT the saying was "If the data doesn't exist in three places, the data doesn't exist."

Granted our three places included two cassette tapes which failed all the time.

LOL.  That would likely be my experience too.  I'd start a backup and that would fail, and then I would need to smash the laptop against a wall and then would need to buy another one, etc.  It's not worth it to begin this process of inevitable doom.  🙂

Biting my tongue long enough. Is it really worth it? Seems 10 is about as bad as Vista or even ME from what I read on the internet. Happily on 8.1 until 2023. What is this "Creators" thing you speak of?