I feel cheated!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
johnlawson1
Freshman

I feel cheated!

We just had Hughesnet installed 3 days ago and it is slower than my old 3 mbps dsl. Speed test shows about 20 - 25 mbps but web page loading takes longer than my snail speed dsl. I think Hughes is screwing their cutomers. Do we have a 3 day right to recind?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
BirdDog
Assistant Professor

Pages will load slower due to satellite latency and noticeable if acustomed to ground based internet. I notice the difference when I use my cell 4G service, the load time is quicker. High content graphic and video pages are the worst.

Using an ad blocker can speed load times up somewhat. I'm not bothered by the slower load time as I've been using satellite for about 14 years now.

Honestly, if all you're concerned with is the page load times you probably should have stayed with ground based internet.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
BirdDog
Assistant Professor

Pages will load slower due to satellite latency and noticeable if acustomed to ground based internet. I notice the difference when I use my cell 4G service, the load time is quicker. High content graphic and video pages are the worst.

Using an ad blocker can speed load times up somewhat. I'm not bothered by the slower load time as I've been using satellite for about 14 years now.

Honestly, if all you're concerned with is the page load times you probably should have stayed with ground based internet.

I also get buffering delays while watching on demand videos.

BirdDog
Assistant Professor

@johnlawson1 wrote:

I also get buffering delays while watching on demand videos.