Hughesnet Community

Install question

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Scorpion51

Install question

A week ago Hughes did an install changing me over from DishNet. The modem and the antenna system were change over but the three year old in-ground cabling was not replaced. Should it have been? What are the chances that i will see system problems due to the cabling.  
48 REPLIES 48
Amanda

Hi Kokercey,

Since I am not an expert in this field, I asked for some advice: the installer can test the cable and ensure that if he did not install it, it at least meets Hughes requirements. A note should also be made in your work order that the same coaxial cable was used so that if there is a problem with it in the future, you will not have to pay for it.

I have not checked your order notes, but since we require installation photos of work done, if there is no imaging of the trench work being done by Hughes then our technicians know it was not replaced and the same applies.
We really don't like to rip up a customer's lawn if we don't have to! 🙂

Thanks,
Amanda
C0RR0SIVE
Associate Professor

Can you inform of us of the exact minimum requirements for the coaxial cable that Hughesnet allows in installations?  I know its here somewhere, but I can't find it.
Gwalk900
Honorary Alumnus

Seems like it was quad shield, swept to 3GHZ RG6 with the connectors also rated to pass 3 GHZ.

I THINK there were "approved" manufacturers numbers in the FSB's but those are getting hard to find these days 🙂

I too would like to see some hard specs listed to use as a cross check.

Amanda

Hi Charles and Gwalk,

I am not exactly sure but from my (basic) knowledge of the systems, I believe they have to be rated for high frequency at 3.0GHz or better with a coordinated connector like the "snap and seals"  or aquatights

Amanda
C0RR0SIVE
Associate Professor